Kwilt Getting Started Tutorial

Kwilt2 & Kwilt3 Tutorial

Kwilt Shoebox Mini Tutorial

Kwilt Shoebox Plus Tutorial

Kwilt FAQs

Check out our frequently asked questions below to get our latest tips and troubleshooting bits. If you do not find answers to your questions in the FAQs, email us at support@mykwilt.com for fast support.


Transferring to Kwilt

One of the primary focuses of Kwilt is to free up space on your phone, therefore it would defeat the purpose if the application took up the same amount of space. Your files are not actually stored on the phone at all, so that all your mobile space stays free.

Here is how we do it; the drive or USB that is connected to your device holds all your photos and videos. This drive constantly stays online so that if you wish to pull up your files they are viewable on your phone without having to actually be stored on your phone. The only storage that the Kwilt app takes on your phone is the small thumbnail files of your photos and videos.

There are many factors that may affect the transfer performance on your home network.

You may have many devices requesting bandwidth at the same time, limiting your router transfer rate to any individual client. Movie streaming for example; takes a lot of bandwidth and may affect your router Wi-Fi throughput. Typically, reducing the number of concurrent transfers, obstacles and noise between your router and Wi-Fi client devices is the best way to improve transfer speed.

You can also move your Kwilt device closer to your router as the closer the devices are to each other, the stronger the wireless signal will be. If you are looking for a more powerful option you can try the new Kwilt2 or Kwilt3, which has a faster transfer rate.

This message indicates that the device does not recognize the USB or drive connected to your Kwilt. This is a crucial part of the setup, as the drive you plug into Kwilt is where all your photos and videos will be stored. If you have already connected a drive into Kwilt and are seeing this error, double check that the USB port is plugged in all the way and then disconnect and reconnect your drive.

When you transfer photos and videos to Kwilt and then decide to delete them from your mobile, they will only be deleted once Kwilt has confirmed that they have been successfully transferred to the connected hard drive.

If you do not see your transferred photos in the Kwilt app, double check that your mobile has internet access either through Wi-Fi or a 3G/LTE data connection. If your mobile is disconnected from the internet, the Kwilt app will not be able to request your photos. Once you restore internet connection for your mobile, your Kwilt photos will appear again.

If you are currently using iCloud and wish to have your iCloud files transferred to your Kwilt, it must be enabled in your Copy Settings. Tap the Kwilt icon in the top left corner of the app and in the dropdown menu, tap “Set Copy Preferences”. Turn on “Enable the Transfer of iCloud Photos & Videos to Kwilt”. Once this is active you will be able to transfer your iCloud files.

If you have several USB storage devices connected to your Kwilt, when you use the “Copy to Kwilt” feature, you will be prompted to select which drive or USB key you want your mobile photos & videos to be transferred to.

Yes, when Kwilt prompts you to do so, this means that your photos & videos are now on the USB storage device connected to your Kwilt device. The Kwilt app always will verify that your files have transferred before asking you if you wish to confirm local deletion from your mobile. In addition, on iPhone and iPad, when you delete photos and videos, you have a certain number of days to restore them from the “Recently Deleted” folder in Apple Photos on your phone if you want them physically back on your phone.

If you have a lot of media on your mobile, the initial photo & video transfer may take a while. This time varies based on the quantity and resolution of your files. For a few hundred photos, it can take 10 minutes, and for thousands of high quality photos & videos, it can take up to a few hours. We recommend connecting your mobile to a power source until your first initial file transfer is complete.

 

As of now, for the transfer to be complete you must remain on the app while transferring. However, if you need to leave the app, the transfer will pause until you return.

Absolutely! Kwilt can store any file types you need to access on the go. Simply go to your computer, transfer your files through your home network to the Kwilt device, or copy them to the USB storage from your PC and plug the USB storage back to the device if you have a large number of files. Then in the Kwilt mobile app, tap the Kwilt icon at the top left corner and select “Browse Kwilt Filesystem” to access these files from anywhere.

Yes, you can transfer file types other than photos & videos to Kwilt. You can do this through your home network, personal computer or by disconnecting the USB key or drive plugged into your device, connecting it to your PC, and then copying the files and connecting it back to Kwilt.

 

Yes! This new feature has been added onto our Plus model, as well as our Kwilt2 and Kwilt3.

For Kwilt Shoebox Plus, an SD card reader is included, which allows you to plug any SD card into the USB connector. Once plugged in, you can copy all files or selected files from your SD card onto the Kwilt Shoebox Plus. If you wish to delete the contents from your SD card after the transfer, the app will automatically ask if you wish to do this after the transfer is successful.

Our new Kwilt2 and Kwilt3 devices have an SD card reader built into the device, so there is no need for the SD card adapter.

Yes. Apple recently released a new photo and video compression format that is called HEIC. On iOS 11 and for iPhones 6, 6s, 7, 8 and X, Apple turns on HEIC for photo capture by default. The Kwilt app can read and transfer HEIC photos and videos that are stored locally on your iPhone or iPad. Once transferred, Kwilt can read them on your iOS and Android device.

Load More